NIFFF INVASION TO TAKE CONTROL OF NEW INFRASTRUCTURES

The Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) unveils its programme for the multidisciplinary label NIFFF Invasion (1 – 9 July). This diverse programme, aimed at the general public and coproduced and financed by the City of Neuchâtel, will spread the worlds of the fantasy genre throughout the city. NIFFF Invasion will celebrate the festival’s roots in the ancient city at its maximum capacity in redesigned Open Air and Festival OFFF areas, as well as in La Villa, a new festival space. A rich and dynamic programme that gives prominence to digital exploration and to the (re)discovery of genre classics, and that will keep Neuchâtel awake all night long.


© Ville de Neuchâtel

NEWLY REDESIGNED INFRASTRUCTURES

As a result of a collaboration between the NIFFF and its loyal partner Lumens 8, the Open Air has a completely new look. The centrepiece of the festival located on the Place des Halles, this new design focuses on the aesthetics of mirror and optical effects, all the while increasing seating capacity to 700. 

Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
© NIFFF 2022

 The OFFF area, where enthused festival-goers attend AFFFTERS, will now spread across two levels in the heart of the Jardin anglais! A brand new location rounds up the festival’s presence: La Villa, an iconic Neuchâtel mansion, will host a variety of interactive and digital offers. 

La Villa de La Petite Rochette
La Villa de La Petite Rochette
Rue du Tertre 50, 2000 Neuchâtel

 During the day, you will have the opportunity to try out the many free activities from NIFFF Invasion. La Villa will temporarily become a vector for recent independent Swiss creations through video games 100% made in Switzerland. In this beautiful backdrop with view over the lake, the audience can learn about the Vevey-born game SWORDSHIP (Digital Kingdom, 2022), and the Zurich-based FAR: CHANGING TIDES (Okomotive, 2022). La Villa will also host the interactive installation IVF-X POSTHUMAN PARENTING IN HYBRID REALITY (Victorine van Alphen, 2020) which asks questions about parenthood by inviting the participants to conceive a cyborg baby. The Villa’s program will be completed by two interactive installations by the HE-Arc and the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) respectively.

Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022

 INVASION – THE RETURN OF CONTEMPORARY ART AT THE NIFFF

 Contemporary art is making its comeback through the NIFFF Invasion label. Invited by the CAN Centre d’art Neuchâtel, artist Gabriele Garavaglia has carte blanche to take ownership of various festival ports of call in the city with a fantasy-themed installation. This never-see-before work developed in partnership with la Maison d’Ailleurs, will explore the strange and the queer at the Théâtre du Passage, to echo the Scream Queer retrospective.

INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
© James Bantone

A LABEL TO ENJOY DAY AND NIGHT

The highly-anticipated CLASSICS RELOADED, which will offer a rare opportunity to (re)discover restored classics free of charge, will invite young and old to lie down under the stars on the new Open Air for screenings full of emotions. It is there, in the flamboyant pedestrian zone, that we will screen the legendary E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, 1982) for its 40th anniversary. PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960), THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, 1961), BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, 1993), and ¿QUIÉN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narcisso Ibànez Serrador, 1976) will also be shown. 

Music will of course echo through the branches of the Jardin anglais every night, but there is more. In collaboration with Case à Chocs, two special dancing evenings will set the NIFFF nights on fire: FANTASTIC QUEERS (Saturday, July 2nd) and CLOSING PARTY NIFFF x CASE À CHOCS (Saturday, July 9th).

Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’

BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, HK, 1993) : Lian, a feared witch raised by wolves, falls in love with a young warrior from the enemy clan. Her wish for a peaceful life with her loved one will prove an arduous feat.

¿QUIEN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976) : An English couple on holiday arrive on an island inhabited solely by strange-behaving children. With no adult in sight, violence breaks out… A cult and cruel movie.

Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’

E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, US, 1982) :  Elliott, a lonely little boy, befriends an alien stranded on Earth who yearns to return home. Spielberg magic under the stars.

THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961) : A spine-chilling mansion becomes the setting for a chilling ghost story when a housekeeper goes into a tailspin at the thought of it being haunted. An elegant masterclass in terror.

Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’
Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’

PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960) : Norman Bates’ motel reopens exceptionally for a queer reading of the most famous serial killer of all time. Cutting-edge filmmaking from Hitchcock.

A FAMILY FRIENDLY PROGRAMME

The NIFFF offers a myriad activities aimed at youngsters with an active imagination. The KID-O-NIFFF programme, in collaboration with AnimaFilms and Filmetic, is dedicated to short films directed by young pupils, while the unmissable Lanterne Magique will screen, like every year, a carefully curated fantasy feature film. The new Open Air will of course welcome day-time street performances. Created by the CCHAR (Centre de Création Helvétique des Arts de la Rue), this programme will delight audiences of all ages every morning from July 4th to July 9th, on the Place des Halles!

CCHAR PROGRAMME
Vi indigaia
Vi indigaia
© CCHAR

NIFFF INVASION BRILLERA SUR DES INFRASTRUCTURES RÉINVENTÉES

Le Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) dévoile la programmation de son label pluridisciplinaire NIFFF Invasion (1er – 9 juillet). Ce programme diversifié destiné au grand public, co-produit et financé par la Ville de Neuchâtel, essaime l’univers fantastique du festival aux quatre coins de la ville. NIFFF Invasion célèbrera l’ancrage de la manifestation dans la Cité millénaire à pleines capacités, avec un Open Air et Festival OFFF complètement réinventés, ainsi qu’un nouvel espace : La Villa. Un label vitaminé et pétillant qui fait la part belle à l’exploration numérique, la (re)découverte d’incontournables de l’histoire du genre, et agitera les nuits neuchâteloises.


© Ville de Neuchâtel

DES INFRASTRUCTURES ENTIÈREMENT RÉINVENTÉES

 Fruit de la collaboration entre le NIFFF et son fidèle partenaire Lumens 8, l’architecture de l’Open Air se métamorphose. Pièce maîtresse du festival à la place des Halles, la nouvelle infrastructure mise sur l’esthétisme d’un jeu d’illusions et de miroirs tout en augmentant la capacité d’accueil (700 places).

Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
© NIFFF 2022

L’espace OFFF, qui accueille les festivalier·ères électrisé·es lors de ses AFFFTERS, se déploiera désormais en plein coeur du Jardin anglais et sur deux étages ! Un lieu inédit complètera la nouvelle offre du festival : La Villa, une maison de maître emblématique de Neuchâtel, accueillera un nouvel espace d’explorations numériques et interactives. 

La Villa de La Petite Rochette
La Villa de La Petite Rochette
Rue du Tertre 50, 2000 Neuchâtel

LA VILLA OUVRE SES PORTES AUX EXPÉRIENCES LUDIQUES ET VIRTUELLES

La journée sera l’occasion d’expérimenter les nombreuses activités gratuites du label NIFFF Invasion. La Villa se fera l’écho de la vague récente de nouvelles créations indépendantes suisses en mettant à l’honneur des jeux vidéo 100% suisses. Dans un décor somptueux avec vue sur le lac, le public pourra découvrir le jeu veveysan SWORDSHIP (Digital Kingdom, 2022), ainsi que la production zurichoise FAR: CHANGING TIDES (Okomotive, 2022). La Villa accueillera également l’oeuvre interactive IVF-X POSTHUMAN PARENTING IN HYBRID REALITY (Victorine van Alphen, 2022) qui questionne la parentalité en nous invitant à concevoir un bébé cyborg. La programmation sera complétée par deux installations de la HE-Arc et de la Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK).

Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022

INVASION SIGNE LE RETOUR DE L’ART CONTEMPORAIN AU NIFFF

L’art contemporain fait son grand retour au sein du label NIFFF Invasion. Sur invitation du CAN Centre d’art Neuchâtel, l’artiste Gabriele Garavaglia a reçu carte blanche pour infiltrer les lieux de passages du festival avec une performance résolument ancrée dans le fantastique. Une exposition inédite, en partenariat avec la Maison d’Ailleurs, explorera l’étrange et le queer au Théâtre du Passage, entrant ainsi en résonance avec la rétrospective Scream Queer.

INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
© James Bantone

UN LABEL QUI SE DEPLOIE DE JOUR COMME DE NUIT

Les très attendus CLASSICS RELOADED, occasion rare de (re)découvrir gratuitement des films classiques restaurés, inviteront les jeunes et les moins jeunes sur le nouvel Open Air pour des projections émouvantes les pieds à l’air et la tête dans les étoiles. C’est dans ce cadre éclatant de la zone piétonne que se tiendra la projection du mythique E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, 1982) qui fête cette année son quarantième anniversaire. PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960), THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, 1961), BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, 1993) et ¿QUIÉN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narcisso Ibànez Serrador, 1976) complèteront cette sélection. 

La musique, quant à elle, résonnera tous les soirs dans la fraîcheur du Jardin anglais, bientôt rejointe par la danse en collaboration avec la Case à Chocs : deux soirées spéciales, FANTASTIC QUEERS (samedi 2 juillet) et l’électrique CLOSING PARTY NIFFF x CASE À CHOCS (samedi 9 juillet), enflammeront les nuits du NIFFF.

Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’

BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, HK, 1993) : Lian, sorcière redoutée élevée par des loups, tombe amoureuse d’un jeune guerrier du clan ennemi. Son souhait d’une vie paisible avec l’être aimé ne va pas être si simple à réaliser.

¿QUIEN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976) : Un couple anglais en vacances débarque sur une île habitée uniquement par des enfants au comportement étrange. Sans le moindre adulte en vue, la violence éclate… Culte et cruel.

Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’

E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, US, 1982) : Elliott, un petit garçon solitaire se lie d’amitié avec E.T., un extraterrestre abandonné sur Terre et qui n’a qu’une envie : rentrer à la maison. La magie Spielberg sous les étoiles.

THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961) : Un manoir qui fait froid dans le dos est le théâtre d’une ghost story glaçante, lorsqu’une gouvernante part en vrille à l’idée qu’il soit hanté. Une masterclass d’élégance et d’effroi.

Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’
Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’

PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960) : Le motel de Norman Bates réouvre exceptionnellement le temps d’une relecture queer du serial killer le plus célèbre de tous les temps. Hitchcock à son plus tranchant.

UNE PROGRAMMATION FAMILY FRIENDLY 

Que ce soit pour les amateur·ices précoces de cinéma fantastique ou les jeunes pousses à l’imagination débordante, le NIFFF propose une cascade d’activités à destination du jeune public. Le programme KID-O-NIFFF, en collaboration avec AnimaFilms et Filmetic, nous fait découvrir des courts métrages réalisés en stop-motion par les élèves de l’école obligatoire, tandis que l’incontournable Lanterne Magique proposera, comme chaque année, un long métrage fantastique choisi avec soin. Enfin, dans le cadre enchanteur du nouvel Open Air, se tiendront à nouveau des spectacles diurnes d’arts de rue. Élaborée par le Centre de Création Helvétique des Arts de la Rue (CCHAR), cette programmation ravira petit·es et grand·es tous les matins du 4 au 9 juillet, au coeur de la Place des Halles !

PROGRAMME DU CCHAR
Vi indigaia
Vi indigaia
© CCHAR