Film

An ambitious real estate project designed under the Ben Ali regime, the Carthage Gardens neighbourhood stopped mid-development because of the 2011 Tunisian revolution. What remains today is a ghost town made of unfinished buildings. As works finally resume, a burnt corpse is discovered. Fatma and Batal, two cops, are tasked with investigating. But when a second victim is found, their suicide theory falls through…

Mooring his narrative in an urban setting where ultra-modern buildings stand next to abandoned construction sites, Ashkal (which means “shapes” in Arabic) transforms what could have been a traditional crime thriller into something more supernatural. The further the investigation goes, the deeper we plunge into the darkness of the human soul. Soon, wraiths from the Tunisian past start to re-emerge.

Youssef Chebbi studied art and filmmaking before he directed his first project in 2010: a short film entitled Vers le nord. A year later, he co-directed Babylon, a documentary about Lybian refugees at the Tunisian border. The film won the International Competition award at Merseille’s FID, and was screened at the MoMA in New York. The following year, he made another short called Les Profondeurs, which screened at various festivals and was broadcast on France Télévision. Ashkal is his first fiction feature film. It was part of the 2022 Directors’ Fortnight in Cannes.


Production
Farès Ladjimi
Scriptwriter(S)
François-Michel Allegrini, Youssef Chebbi
Music
Thomas Kuratli
Cinematography
Hazem Berrabah
Editing
Valentin Féron
Cast
Fatma Oussaifi, Mohamed Grayaâ, Aymen Ben Hmida
Contact
The Party Film Sales

Film

Ambitieux projet immobilier lancé par le régime de Ben Ali, le quartier des Jardins de Carthage a vu sa construction stoppée net par la révolution tunisienne de 2011. Aujourd’hui, ne subsiste qu’une ville fantôme composée de bâtiments inachevés. Tandis que les travaux reprennent enfin, un corps calciné est découvert dans l’un des immeubles. Deux policiers, Fatma et Batal, sont envoyés sur place pour mener l’enquête. Leur hypothèse s’oriente d’abord sur un suicide par immolation, jusqu’à ce qu’une deuxième victime soit retrouvée…

Ancrant son récit dans un décor urbain où les buildings ultra-modernes côtoient les chantiers à l’abandon, Ashkal (« formes » en arabe) entraîne les codes du polar dans un territoire aux atours plus fantastiques. Tandis qu’elle plonge toujours plus profondément dans la noirceur de l’âme humaine, l’enquête réveille alors les spectres de l’histoire tunisienne.

Youssef Chebbi étudie l’art et le cinéma avant de passer à la réalisation en 2010 avec le court-métrage Vers le nord. Un an plus tard, il co-réalise Babylon, documentaire consacré aux réfugiés libyens à la frontière tunisienne, qui sera récompensé par le grand prix de la compétition internationale au FID de Marseille et programmé au MoMA à New York. L’année suivante, il revient au court-métrage avec Les Profondeurs, sélectionné dans divers festival et diffusé sur France Télévision. Ashkal, son premier long-métrage de fiction, a été présenté à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs au Festival de Cannes 2022.


Production
Farès Ladjimi
Scénario
François-Michel Allegrini, Youssef Chebbi
Musique
Thomas Kuratli
Cinématographie
Hazem Berrabah
Montage
Valentin Féron
Distribution
Fatma Oussaifi, Mohamed Grayaâ, Aymen Ben Hmida
Contact
The Party Film Sales