

NIFFF - Press release, July 13, 2024 EMBARGO until July 13, 19:00

# NIFFF 2024: UNIQUE VISIONS WIN BIG

The 23rd edition of the Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) came to an end on Saturday evening after an emotional closing ceremony. Once again, 60,000 festivalgoers chose to explore the many dimensions of genre cinema in the presence of 120 guests. The International Jury granted the prestigious H.R. Giger "Narcisse" Award for best feature film (CHF 10,000 given by the City of Neuchâtel) to HANDLING THE UNDEAD, the first fiction feature film from Thea Hvistendahl, as part of a prize list that includes very engaged movies. An honorable mention was awarded to Tilman Singer's CUCKOO, while Jane Schoenbrun's I SAW THE TV GLOW won the Imaging The Future Award (CHF 3,000 given by Microcity) for best production design.

"For carefully crafting a meditation on grief and for tackling a popular genre in a subtle and original way, the Narcisse Award for Best Picture goes to HANDLING THE UNDEAD" said the International Jury during the closing ceremony, about Thea Hvistendahl's first feature film.

#### **REMARKABLE ATTENDANCE NUMBERS**

With the **Théâtre du Passage**, the **Cinepel** cinemas, and the Open Air on Place des Halles, the NIFFF 2024 offered 124 screenings amounting to 35,000 tickets sold – slightly more than last year's record numbers. A testament to our audience's loyalty and enthusiasm for a genre that is ever evolving. It cements the role of the NIFFF as a leading event on the Swiss film scene. The **NIFFF EXTENDED** conferences were also extremely successful, with more attendees than ever before, while **La Villa** put video game and immersive installations front and center. Festivalgoers were also able to enjoy the festive atmosphere at the **Jardin anglais**.

#### 2024 PRIZE LIST

Two films directed by women from the official selection won awards: **HANDLING THE UNDEAD** from Thea Hvistendahl, and **ENNENNUM** from Shalini Ushadevi. Both offer singular perspectives on genre cinema and echo the program's geographical, thematical, and artistic diversity. The winning short films were directed by rising filmmakers (Eros V, **MEAT PUPPET**), more established directors (Kantarama Gahigiri, **TERRA MATER**), or multidisciplinary artists (such as filmmaker and plastic artist Ali Cherri, **THE WATCHMAN**).

#### SOON IN THEATERS

In the coming weeks, the audience will be able to (re)discover some of the gems from our program in theaters, including the H.R. Giger "Narcisse" Award winner for best feature film. Upcoming films that are not to be missed include:

- HANDLING THE UNDEAD Thea Hvistendahl, NO/SE/GR, 2024 (Filmcoopi Zurich AG)
- CUCKOO Tilman Singer, DE/US, 2024 (Praesens-Film AG)
- LOVE LIES BLEEDING Rose Glass, UK/US, 2024 (Ascot Elite Entertainment GMBH, Switzerland)
- IMMACULATE Michael Mohan, US/IT, 2024 (Ascot Elite Entertainment GMBH, Switzerland)
- MAXXXINE Ti West, US/UK, 2024 (Universal Pictures)
- MISÉRICORDE Alain Guiraudie, FR/ES/PT, 2024 (Praesens-Film AG)
- EAT THE NIGHT Caroline Poggi, Jonathan Vinel, FR, 2024 (Sister Distribution)
- LES PISTOLETS EN PLASTIQUE Jean-Christophe Meurisse, FR, 2024 (Xenix Filmdistribution GmbH)
- L'EMPIRE Bruno Dumont, FR, 2024 (Sister Distribution)

# 2024 PRIZE LIST

H. R. GIGER "NARCISSE" AWARD FOR BEST FEATURE FILM CHF 10,000 given by the City of Neuchâtel HANDLING THE UNDEAD - Thea Hvistendahl (NO/SE/GR) Distributor: Filmcoopi Zurich AG Honorable mention: CUCKOO - Tilman Singer (DE/US) Local Distributor: Praesens-film Ag Awarded by the International Jury: Saul Pandelakis, Ishan Shukla, Annick Mahnert, João Pedro Rodrigues, Kourtney Roy

## IMAGING THE FUTURE AWARD FOR BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN

CHF 3,000 given by Microcity I SAW THE TV GLOW – Jane Schoenbrun (US) Local distributor: Filmbankmedia Ltd Awarded by the International Jury: Saul Pandelakis, Ishan Shukla, Annick Mahnert, João Pedro Rodrigues, Kourtney Roy

# NIFFF INTERNATIONAL CRITICS AWARD

Honorary **ENNENNUM** – Shalini Ushadevi (IN) World Sales: Shalini Ushadevi Awarded by the International Critics Jury: Nora Bouazzouni, Léon Cattan, Ard Vijn

# YOUTH AWARD

Ba111od watch ETERNAL – Ulaa Salim (NO/IS/DK) Local distributor: Plaion Pictures Awarded by the Lycée Denis-de-Rougemont & Blaise Cendrars High school jury

## **RTS AUDIENCE AWARD**

Broadcasting support ODDITY - Damian Mc Carthy (IE) World Sales: Blue Finch Film Releasing Awarded by the audience

## ASIAN COMPETITION

AUDIENCE AWARD FOR BEST ASIAN FILM Ba111od watch TWILIGHT OF THE WARRIORS: WALLED IN - Soi Cheang (HK/CN) Awarded by the audience

# MELIES COMPETITION

SILVER MÉLIÈS FOR BEST FANTASTIC EUROPEAN FEATURE FILM Nomination HANDLING THE UNDEAD – Thea Hvistendahl (NO/SE/GR) Distributor: Filmcoopi Zurich AG Awarded by the Méliès Jury: Anna Bogutskaya, Olga Lamontanara, Vincent Paul-Boncour

SILVER MÉLIÈS FOR BEST FANTASTIC EUROPEAN SHORT FILM Nomination THE WATCHMAN - Ali Cherri (IT/FR) World Sales: Kinoelektron Awarded by the SSA/SUISSIMAGE Jury: Niccolò Castelli, Anne Delseth, Paolo Moretti

## SHORTS COMPETITION

H. R. GIGER "NARCISSE" AWARD FOR BEST SWISS SHORT FILM CHF 10,000 given by SSA and SUISSIMAGE TERRA MATER - Kantarama Gahigiri (CH/RW) World Sales: SUDU ConnexioN Awarded by the SSA/SUISSIMAGE jury: Niccolò Castelli, Anne Delseth, Paolo Moretti

#### YOUTH AWARD FOR BEST SHORT FILM

Honorary **MEAT PUPPET** – Eros V (UK) World Sales: Puppet Master Awarded by the Lycée Denis-de-Rougemont & Blaise Cendrars High school jury

AUDIENCE AWARD FOR BEST SHORT FILM Honorary

MEAT PUPPET - Eros V (UK) World Sales: Puppet Master Awarded by the audience

**NIFFF 2025** The NIFFF's 24th edition will take place from July 4th to July 12th, 2025.

#### CONTACT