NIFFF INVASION TO TAKE CONTROL OF NEW INFRASTRUCTURES

The Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) unveils its programme for the multidisciplinary label NIFFF Invasion (1 – 9 July). This diverse programme, aimed at the general public and coproduced and financed by the City of Neuchâtel, will spread the worlds of the fantasy genre throughout the city. NIFFF Invasion will celebrate the festival’s roots in the ancient city at its maximum capacity in redesigned Open Air and Festival OFFF areas, as well as in La Villa, a new festival space. A rich and dynamic programme that gives prominence to digital exploration and to the (re)discovery of genre classics, and that will keep Neuchâtel awake all night long.


© Ville de Neuchâtel

NEWLY REDESIGNED INFRASTRUCTURES

As a result of a collaboration between the NIFFF and its loyal partner Lumens 8, the Open Air has a completely new look. The centrepiece of the festival located on the Place des Halles, this new design focuses on the aesthetics of mirror and optical effects, all the while increasing seating capacity to 700. 

Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
© NIFFF 2022

 The OFFF area, where enthused festival-goers attend AFFFTERS, will now spread across two levels in the heart of the Jardin anglais! A brand new location rounds up the festival’s presence: La Villa, an iconic Neuchâtel mansion, will host a variety of interactive and digital offers. 

La Villa de La Petite Rochette
La Villa de La Petite Rochette
Rue du Tertre 50, 2000 Neuchâtel

 During the day, you will have the opportunity to try out the many free activities from NIFFF Invasion. La Villa will temporarily become a vector for recent independent Swiss creations through video games 100% made in Switzerland. In this beautiful backdrop with view over the lake, the audience can learn about the Vevey-born game SWORDSHIP (Digital Kingdom, 2022), and the Zurich-based FAR: CHANGING TIDES (Okomotive, 2022). La Villa will also host the interactive installation IVF-X POSTHUMAN PARENTING IN HYBRID REALITY (Victorine van Alphen, 2020) which asks questions about parenthood by inviting the participants to conceive a cyborg baby. The Villa’s program will be completed by two interactive installations by the HE-Arc and the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) respectively.

Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022

 INVASION – THE RETURN OF CONTEMPORARY ART AT THE NIFFF

 Contemporary art is making its comeback through the NIFFF Invasion label. Invited by the CAN Centre d’art Neuchâtel, artist Gabriele Garavaglia has carte blanche to take ownership of various festival ports of call in the city with a fantasy-themed installation. This never-see-before work developed in partnership with la Maison d’Ailleurs, will explore the strange and the queer at the Théâtre du Passage, to echo the Scream Queer retrospective.

INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
© James Bantone

A LABEL TO ENJOY DAY AND NIGHT

The highly-anticipated CLASSICS RELOADED, which will offer a rare opportunity to (re)discover restored classics free of charge, will invite young and old to lie down under the stars on the new Open Air for screenings full of emotions. It is there, in the flamboyant pedestrian zone, that we will screen the legendary E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, 1982) for its 40th anniversary. PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960), THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, 1961), BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, 1993), and ¿QUIÉN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narcisso Ibànez Serrador, 1976) will also be shown. 

Music will of course echo through the branches of the Jardin anglais every night, but there is more. In collaboration with Case à Chocs, two special dancing evenings will set the NIFFF nights on fire: FANTASTIC QUEERS (Saturday, July 2nd) and CLOSING PARTY NIFFF x CASE À CHOCS (Saturday, July 9th).

Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’

BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, HK, 1993) : Lian, a feared witch raised by wolves, falls in love with a young warrior from the enemy clan. Her wish for a peaceful life with her loved one will prove an arduous feat.

¿QUIEN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976) : An English couple on holiday arrive on an island inhabited solely by strange-behaving children. With no adult in sight, violence breaks out… A cult and cruel movie.

Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’

E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, US, 1982) :  Elliott, a lonely little boy, befriends an alien stranded on Earth who yearns to return home. Spielberg magic under the stars.

THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961) : A spine-chilling mansion becomes the setting for a chilling ghost story when a housekeeper goes into a tailspin at the thought of it being haunted. An elegant masterclass in terror.

Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’
Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’

PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960) : Norman Bates’ motel reopens exceptionally for a queer reading of the most famous serial killer of all time. Cutting-edge filmmaking from Hitchcock.

A FAMILY FRIENDLY PROGRAMME

The NIFFF offers a myriad activities aimed at youngsters with an active imagination. The KID-O-NIFFF programme, in collaboration with AnimaFilms and Filmetic, is dedicated to short films directed by young pupils, while the unmissable Lanterne Magique will screen, like every year, a carefully curated fantasy feature film. The new Open Air will of course welcome day-time street performances. Created by the CCHAR (Centre de Création Helvétique des Arts de la Rue), this programme will delight audiences of all ages every morning from July 4th to July 9th, on the Place des Halles!

CCHAR PROGRAMME
Vi indigaia
Vi indigaia
© CCHAR

RUNDUM ERNEUERTE INFRASTRUKTUREN FÜR NIFFF INVASION

Das Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) gibt das Programm seines interdisziplinären Labels NIFFF Invasion (1.-9. Juli) bekannt. Das vielseitige, an ein breites Publikum gerichtete Programm, koproduziert und finanziert von der Stadt Neuenburg, trägt die fantastische Atmosphäre des Festivals in die Gassen der Stadt. NIFFF Invasion feiert die Standort-Verankerung des Anlasses neu mit ausgeweiteten Kapazitäten – im erweiterten Open Air, mit einem völlig neu konzipierten OFFF-Bereich, aber auch mit einer zusätzlichen Festivalstätte: «La Villa». Das Label belebt das Festival mit digitalen Experimenten, mit der (Wieder-)Entdeckung von Genrefilm-Klassikern und mit langen Neuenburger Nächten.


© Ville de Neuchâtel

GÄNZLICH NEU ERDACHTE INFRASTRUKTUREN

Gemeinsam mit seinem treuen Partner Lumens 8 hat das NIFFF die Architektur des Open Airs überarbeitet. Als Herzstück des Festivals auf der Place des Halles setzt die neue Infrastruktur auf die Ästhetik eines Spiels mit Illusionen und Spiegeln und erhöht gleichzeitig die Aufnahmekapazität (700 Plätze).

Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
Maquettes de l'Open Air 2022
© NIFFF 2022

Der OFFF-Bereich, der das Festivalpublikum zu aufregenden AFFFTERS empfängt, präsentiert sich neu doppelstöckig und mitten im Jardin Anglais! Und eine brandneue Location vervollständigt das überarbeitete Angebot des Festival: «La Villa», ein emblematisches Herrenhaus in Neuchâtel, stellt neu einen Raum für digitale und interaktive Kunst zur Verfügung.

La Villa de La Petite Rochette
La Villa de La Petite Rochette
Rue du Tertre 50, 2000 Neuchâtel

 «LA VILLA» : OFFENE TÜREN FÜR SPIELERISCHE UND VIRTUELLE ERFAHRUNGEN

 Tagsüber bietet sich die Chance, in die vielen kostenlosen Aktivitäten von NIFFF Invasion einzutauchen. Die «Villa» dokumentiert die jüngste Welle des neuen Schweizer Independent-Kunstschaffens und präsentiert 100%ige Schweizer Games. In einer prächtigen Kulisse mit Blick auf den See hat das Publikum Zugriff auf das Spiel SWORDSHIP aus Vevey (Digital Kingdom, 2022) und die Zürcher Produktion FAR: CHANGING TIDES (Okomotive, 2022). In der Villa wird auch das interaktive Werk IVF-X POSTHUMAN PARENTING IN HYBRID REALITY (Victorine van Alphen, 2020) zu sehen sein: Er hinterfragt Elternschaftskonzepte, indem es das Publikum auffordert, ein Cyborg-Baby zu zeugen. Das Programm in der «Villa» wird ergänzt durch zwei Installationen der HE-Arc und der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK).

Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Digital Kingdom, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Okomotive, CH, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022
Victorine van Alphen, NL, 2022

 INVASION BRINGT ZEITGENÖSSISCHE KUNST ZURÜCK ANS NIFFF

 Auch zeitgenössische Kunst ist im Rahmen des Labels NIFFF Invasion wieder vertreten. Auf Einladung des CAN Centre d’art Neuchâtel hat der Künstler Gabriele Garavaglia eine Carte Blanche erhalten, um Durchgangsorte des Festivals mit einer Performance zu beleben, die eindeutig im Fantastischen fusst. Eine exklusive Ausstellung in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Maison d’Ailleurs, erforscht im Théâtre du Passage bizarr-queere Ästhetik und bildet somit Querbezüge zur Retrospektive Scream Queer.

INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
INNER RESISTANCE, Gabriele Garavaglia (2019)
© James Bantone

EIN TAG- UND NACHTAKTIVES LABEL

Mit Spannung erwartet werden die CLASSICS RELOADED – frisch restaurierte laufen am neuen Open Air kostenlos. Jung und Alt können dort bewegende Werke (wieder) entdecken, mit den Füssen an der Luft und dem Kopf in den Sternen. In der eindrücklichen Kulisse der Fussgängerzone findet etwa die Vorführung des legendären E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, 1982) statt, der in diesem Jahr sein 40-jähriges Jubiläum feiert. PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960), THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, 1961), BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, 1993) und ¿QUIÉN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narcisso Ibànez Serrador, 1976) vervollständigen die Auswahl. 

Allabendlich erklingt in der erfrischenden Kühle des Jardin Anglais angenehme Musik, und danach wird gemeinsam mit der Case à Chocs getanzt: Zwei Sonderabende, FANTASTIC QUEERS (Samstag, 2. Juli) und CLOSING PARTY NIFFF x CASE À CHOCS (Samstag, 9. Juli), verlängern die Nächte des NIFFF.

Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Ronny Yu, HK, 1993, 92’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976, 111’

BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR (Ronny Yu, HK, 1993) : Die gefürchtete Hexe Lian, aufgezogen von Wölfen, verliebt sich in einen jungen Krieger des feindlichen Clans. Ein friedliches Leben mit dem Geliebten dürfte Wunschdenken bleiben.

¿QUIEN PUEDE MATAR A UN NIÑO? (Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, ES, 1976) : Ein britisches Urlaubspaar bereist eine Insel, auf der unbeaufsichtigte, unheimliche Kinder hausen. Ohne andere Erwachsene in Sicht bricht Gewalt aus… Kultig und grausam.

Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Steven Spielberg, US, 1982, 114’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’
Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961, 99’

E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL (Steven Spielberg, US, 1982) : Der einsame kleine Elliott freundet sich mit E.T. an, einem auf der Erde gestrandeten Alien, das nur eines will: nach Hause. Spielbergs Magie unter dem Sternenhimmel.

THE INNOCENTS (Jack Clayton, UK, USA, 1961) :Ein ominöses Herrenhaus wird zur schauerlichen Ghost Story-Kulisse: Eine Haushälterin befürchtet, dass es dort spuken könnte. Elegante Meisterklasse des Gruselns.

Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’
Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960, 109’

PSYCHO (Alfred Hitchcock, US, 1960) : Das Motel von Norman Bates öffnet nochmals seine Türen für eine Queer-Interpretation des berühmtesten Filmmörders aller Zeiten. Hitchcock auf dem Zenit.

EIN FAMILIENFREUNDLICHES PROGRAMM

Ob für frühreife Fans des fantastischen Films oder Kids mit blühender Fantasie: Das NIFFF plant viele Aktivitäten für Kinder und Jugendliche. Das mit AnimaFilms durchgeführte Programm KID-O-NIFFF zeigt eigens von Schulkindern inszenierte Kurzfilme, und wie alle Jahre präsentiert die Zauberlaterne einen ganz besonderen Kinderfilm. Schliesslich wird die bezaubernde Kulisse des neuen Open Airs auch dieses Jahr wieder für tagsüber stattfindende Strassenspektakel genutzt. Die vom Centre de Création Helvétique des Arts de la Rue (CCHAR) angebotenen Darbietungen dürften vom 4. bis 9. Juli jeden Vormittag auf dem Pflaster des Place des Halles Jung und Alt begeistern! 

CCHAR PROGRAMM
Vi indigaia
Vi indigaia
© CCHAR